'Reading a book is like re-writing it for yourself. You bring to a novel, anything you read, all your experience of the world. You bring your history and you read it in your own terms.'- Angela Carter

Friday, 4 November 2016

REVIEW: The Black Key - Amy Ewing

The Black Key (The Lone City, #3)Title: The Black Key
Author: Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City #3
Publisher: Walker Books
Source: Review Copy
Publication Date: 6th October, 2016
Series Reviews: The Jewel, The White Rose



The third book in Amy Ewing's New York Times bestselling Lone City trilogy, The Black Key is perfect for fans of The Selection and Red Queen. Violet and the Society of the Black Key are preparing to launch an attack on the royalty, and Violet has a crucial role to play. She must lead the surrogates as they infiltrate the Auction and break down the walls of the Lone City. But with her sister, Hazel, imprisoned in the palace of the Lake, Violet is torn. In order to save her sister, she must abandon her cause and her friends and return to the Jewel.

Thursday, 3 November 2016

REVIEW: The White Rose - Amy Ewing

The White Rose (The Lone City, #2)Title: The White Rose
Author: Amy Ewing
Series: The Lone City #2
Publisher: Walker Books
Source: Review Copy
Publication Date: 1st October, 2015
Series Reviews: The Jewel 


Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Matched, this is the second book in the Lone City trilogy, following on from Amy Ewing's shocking and compelling debut novel, The Jewel. Violet, Ash and Raven have escaped the palace of the Duchess of the Lake, but Regimentals are hunting for them across the city. Nowhere is safe, and they are dependent on Lucien and his secret society for survival. If they can reach the safety of the White Rose then Violet may be able to help Lucien in his plan to rescue more surrogates. For one surrogate, however, it is already too late. Violet's best friend, Raven, is pregnant. And in the Jewel, surrogates cannot survive giving birth.

Monday, 17 October 2016

Discussion Post: Homeless


For those of you who have known me for a few years, you will know that I've been living in London for roughly two years. London is a vastly different world to anything that I was used to back in the Welsh Valleys, but I've slowly but surely started making this place my home. The differences in behaviour, in the culture, the lifestyle and the scenery were all completely overwhelming to me. I loved that shops were now open late and the ease of public transport, but hated the fact that everything was so completely jam packed with people. I think the one thing that really hits me the most about living in London though, is the sheer amount of homeless people and the class divide.

Tuesday, 20 September 2016

BLOG TOUR: Frost Like Night - Sara Raasch

Hi all! Today I'm taking part in the blog tour for Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch. Frost Like Night is the final book in the Snow Like Ashes trilogy and I'm so sad that it's ending! This has been one of my favourite series of the last few years and I'm so excited to see how it ends. Snow Like Ashes and Ice Like Fire blew me away and I can guarantee that the finale will be no different. Look out for my review coming up in future posts! Today I'll be sharing with you my favourite quotes from the series, ones which have really resonated with me and are so beautiful. 

Thursday, 4 August 2016

REVIEW: Lie With Me - Sabine Durrant

Lie With MeTitle: Lie With Me
Author: Sabine Durrant
Series: None
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Source: Review Copy
Publication Date: 28th July, 2016


It starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home. And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house, and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of... Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that, however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage... ... well, by then, it could just be too late.

Thursday, 14 July 2016

Top 5 Books: January-June 2016

Hi all! It’s been a little while since I’ve posted properly on here. It’s been difficult to keep it up with my job and also, my laptop conked out so it’s been a case of grabbing some time when I can to get material ready.

I thought I would do a quick round up of my top 5 reads of 2016 so far because these books have been BRILLIANT. It’s a fairly diverse mix of Young Adult and Adult, Contemporary and Fantasy/ Sci-Fi and I’ve found that the majority of them have been real thought provokers.